ALIGHT – Spiral of Silence (April 27, 2018)

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email
Share on print

Italian Goths Alight return to the scene on April 27, 2018, with their brand new album Spiral of Silence, available through El Puerto Records.

In the middle of the 90s, Gothic Metal reached its peak with legendary and unforgettable releases of TiamatMoonspellTherion as well as from the first “female fronted”-acts like Theatre Of Tragedy and The Gathering.

After the turn of the millennium, bands like NightwishWithin Temptation and Evanescence developed the genre further and added their symphonic direction.

Impressed and influenced by both sides, Mirko Montresor from Bolzano, founded Alight, after his experiences with the melodic death/black metal band Voices Of Decay some years before. Mirko never set any stylistic boundaries, adding Electro and Industrial as well as Dark Wave parts to the melodic and dreamful sound of his brainchild Alight.
After the band’s first concerts, original singer Roberta Staccuneddu (ex-Evenfall) got replaced by Mariangela Demurtas, who went to Norway in order to become the new Tristania singer after a year with Alight.

A first constant came with the addition of  Sabina Spagnoli, with whom Alight finally entered the studio, to record their debut album Don’t Fear The Revenge, which was released in 2009 and included a guest appearance by Theatre Of Tragedy vocalist Nell Sigland. Right after the release, Alight played two European tours, alongside Samsas Traum and Dornenreich as well as numerous single shows supporting Soulfly, Black Stone CherryDarkwell, and Novembre.

Although Alight were on their way up, new line-up changes (guitar player Eddi Crocco and bassist Elena Donolato leaving the band) and work-related commitments set the band’s career back again, until their current members Roberto Sieff (guitar, since 2011), Monica Perulli (bass, since 2013) and Catia Borgogno (vocals, since  2016) entered the game, with whom the new song material got completed.

Now, Alight are finally ready to strike and unleash their second record Spiral Of Silence, which will be released worldwide on their new label El Puerto Records, on April 27, 2018. “I would say that Spiral Of Silence is the evolution of our first album. We have worked on many aspects by exploring new techniques, expanding our musical horizons and adapting them to our style. Even the sounds have evolved: thanks to technological progress we have found ways to make “Spiral of Silence” sound even more interesting than our previous album”, commented Mirko. 
The band already put a lot of effort into the pre-production, which was handled by Waldemar Sorychta (Moonspell, Tiamat, Samael), who helped the band to improve the composition and arrangements. The twelve jewels got finally recorded and mixed by Marco Barusso (Lacuna Coil) and mastered by Marco D’Agostino (Lacuna Coil).
Once again, Alight are also proud to announce another prominent guest, which is Andrea Ferro of their fellow-countryman Lacuna Coil, who can be heard on “The Shame”. On top of this, some string parts were recorded by Giovanni Lanfranchi (Cayne), adding an organic feeling to the record.

Spiral Of Silence tracklist: 
01. “Spiral Of Silence”
02. “The Portal”
03. “Psiche”
04. “Lost In The Past”
05. “Walk To The Line”
06. “Roses In The Dusk”
07. “The Shame”
08. “Look Closer”
09. “Absence Of Essence”
10. “Let Me Touch The Horizon”



Check Out Our Latest .

Beat the Geek Week, rock, metal, triva, game show

Beat the Geek Week – Ep444

We’re back this week with the greatest rock trivia game ever; it’s Beat the Geek Week! If you don’t know, Beat the

fresh blood, decibel geek, podcast, rock, metal, new music

Fresh Blood March 2021 – Ep443

We’re back this time to give your ears some modern goodness with Fresh Blood! Anyone touting the long-overwrought ‘Rock is Dead’ phrase

new noize, decibel geek, rock, metal, news, kiss, motley crue, anthrax, journey

New Noize v14 – Ep442

We’re back this week to talk all the rock news that’s fit to spit with New Noize v14! Some of the new