ALIEN WEAPONRY – Tu (June 1, 2018)

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email
Share on print
Three teenagers, known as Alien Weaponry, from a tiny town in the small South Pacific nation of New Zealand have managed to capture the imaginations of people all over the world with their unique thrash metal sound and commanding live performances. This in itself may be surprising, but perhaps the most unexpected element of all in their success is that many of the band’s songs are delivered in a language that is unknown to international audiences – New Zealand’s native language, Te Reo Māori.
Now, Alien Weaponry are ready to release their furious debut album Tu on the world on June 1, 2018. Short for ‘Tumatauenga,’ the Māori god of war, Tu also means to stand strong and proud and to stand for something. The notion is reflected in the album artwork, which includes the traditional moko kanohi (facial tattoos) of the Māori warrior.
Standing for something important is something the band does equally well in English or in Māori. Today, Napalm Records releases the single and video for the song “Holding My Breath” – the first single so far to be sung entirely in English. Check out the video below.
The song was written by Lewis (vocals/guitar). In it, he talks about the anxiety of being judged and socially ostracized by peers to the point of being unable to function.
“It’s about something that actually happened to me. I felt so bad that I literally stayed in my room and couldn’t bring myself to leave the house or talk to anyone,” he says. “I wrote the song at that time, and it was one of the things that helped me work through it, so I hope it will resonate with other people going through similar things.”
One of the people it has already resonated with is actress Rose van Wylich, who featured in the video and who experienced similar feelings of isolation as a teenager.
“Holding My Breath” is the first single put out by Napalm Records in advance of Alien Weaponry‘s debut album Tu being released on June 1, 2018. A month later, the band will head to Europe for a 3-month tour which includes the world’s biggest metal festival, Wacken Open Air.
Tu is available in the following formats:
1 CD Digipack & 2 Bonus Tracks
LP Gatefold & 7″ Single (2 Bonus Tracks)
Digital Album

Tu tracklisting:
1. “Whaikorero”
2. “Ru Ana Te Whenua”
3. “Holding My Breath”
4. “Raupatu”
5. “Kai Tangata”
6. “Rage – It Takes Over Again”
7. “The Things That You Know” (Bonus Track)
8. “Whispers”
9. “PC Bro”
10. “Urutaa”
11. “Nobody Here”
12. “Te Ara”
13. “Hypocrite” (Bonus Track)
Vocals, guitars: Lewis de Jong
Drums: Henry de Jong
Bass: Ethan Trembath

Check Out Our Latest .

Beat the Geek Week, rock, metal, triva, game show

Beat the Geek Week – Ep444

We’re back this week with the greatest rock trivia game ever; it’s Beat the Geek Week! If you don’t know, Beat the

fresh blood, decibel geek, podcast, rock, metal, new music

Fresh Blood March 2021 – Ep443

We’re back this time to give your ears some modern goodness with Fresh Blood! Anyone touting the long-overwrought ‘Rock is Dead’ phrase

new noize, decibel geek, rock, metal, news, kiss, motley crue, anthrax, journey

New Noize v14 – Ep442

We’re back this week to talk all the rock news that’s fit to spit with New Noize v14! Some of the new