THE DARK ELEMENT – the Dark Element (November 10, 2017)

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email
Share on print

The Dark Element is a new musical project fronted by the former Nightwish vocalist Anette Olzon together with Finnish guitarist and songwriter Jani Liimatainen. The combination of these two talents promises to deliver a debut album that will be a huge statement in the European metal scene. 

Since word of this project got out, fans have been frothing at the mouth with anticipation for its arrival, and no wonder considering the talent involved! Anette is widely known for being the immaculate voice on the hit albums from Nightwish, Dark Passion Play, and Imaginaerum. Jani has recently been busy in Cain’s Offering alongside Stratovarius singer Timo Kotipelto but left a deep mark on the minds of all power metal fans thanks to his time in Sonata Arctica

The album is set to be released November 10, 2017, via Frontiers Music Srl.

Jani Liimatainen: “I have always been a big fan of Anette‘s voice and when the opportunity to work with her arose, writing and producing an album, it was something I just couldn’t say no! It has been a blast working on the songs and I can’t wait for everyone to hear the final result. This will be epic! The songs are extremely melodic and to the point. My goal has been to write catchy songs with hooks that will haunt your dreams, and I think it’s pretty much ‘mission accomplished’. Stay tuned for something special!”

Anette Olzon: “I am so looking forward to this album and I believe our collaboration worked like a perfect match and I am really happy that Jani and Frontiers asked me to do this with them!”

The Dark Element track listing:

Anette Olzon


  1. “The Dark Element”
  2. “My Sweet Mystery”
  3. “Last Good Day”
  4. “Here’s To You”
  5. “Someone You Used to Know”
  6. “Dead to Me”
  7. “Halo”
  8. “I Cannot Raise The Dead”
  9. “The Ghost and the Reaper”
  10. “Heaven of Your Heart”
  11. “Only One Who Knows Me”

Produced by: Jani Liimatainen

Mixed by: Jacob Hansen


Anette Olzon – lead vocals

Jani Liimatainen – guitars, keyboards, programming

Jonas Kuhlberg – bass

Jani “Hurtsi” Hurula – drums





Check Out Our Latest .

fresh blood, decibel geek, podcast, rock, metal, new music

Fresh Blood March 2021 – Ep443

We’re back this time to give your ears some modern goodness with Fresh Blood! Anyone touting the long-overwrought ‘Rock is Dead’ phrase

new noize, decibel geek, rock, metal, news, kiss, motley crue, anthrax, journey

New Noize v14 – Ep442

We’re back this week to talk all the rock news that’s fit to spit with New Noize v14! Some of the new

sensational seconds, rock, metal, extreme, iron maiden, metallica, kiss, ozzy, rock, metal

Sensational Seconds – Ep441

After a week of picking favorite debuts, we return to talk about greatest followups with Sensational Seconds! By now, you’ve most certainly