MICHAEL MONROE – The Best (Album Review)

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email
Share on print

Michael Monroe The Best

Living in Canada, I don’t get much opportunity to see Michael Monroe, founder, and vocalist for Finnish glam rockers Hanoi Rocks, in concert. However, a couple of years back I was fortunate enough to catch Monroe 3 times, thanks to the Sweden Rock Festival and the Monsters of Rock Cruise. Although he was in his 50’s Monroe dashed from one end of the stage to the other throughout his entire set and I was memorized. Equally thrilling was finding out Michael Monroe was releasing a 29 track, 2 CD collection that spanned his 30 plus year solo career. Simply titled, The Best, the CD covers Monroe’s solo career from 1987-2017.  Well-known songs like “Dead, Jail or Rock n Roll” and “78” are interspersed with lesser known gems, bonus cuts, and unreleased songs, most remastered and just waiting to be discovered.

About the CD, Monroe says, “This album is a great representation of my 30-year solo career, including four songs from the Little Steven-produced Demolition 23 album, which has been unavailable for over 20 years, plus some special rarities and previously unreleased bonus tracks.”

One of the previously unreleased tracks is a second version of the Steppenwolf cover “Magic Carpet Ride,” this time featuring Slash. The song was a leftover from the 1993 Coneheads Soundtrack.

Not one to rest on his (well deserved) laurels, Monroe even included a new track,  “One Foot Outta The Grave” which, in effect brings this work full circle.

Buy the CD, play it from start to finish and enjoy the ride. You will not be disappointed!

Michael Monroe - Brian RonaldTrack Listing:
Disc 1
01. Dead, Jail Or Rock ‘N’ Roll
02. Man With No Eyes
03. It’s A Lie (Remastered) [feat. Stiv Bators]
04. Nights Are So Long
05. Can’t Go Home Again
06. Nothin’s Alright (Remastered)
07. Hammersmith Palais (Remastered)
08. You Crucified Me (Remastered)
09. Deadtime Stories (Remastered)
10. Where’s The Fire John? (Remastered)
11. Make It Go Away (Remastered)
12. Life Gets You Dirty (Remastered)
13. Self Destruction Blues (Remastered)
14. Stranded (Remastered)
15. Telephone Bill’s All Mine (Remastered)

Michael Monroe - Brian RonaldDisc 2
01. Trick Of The Wrist (Remastered)
02. ’78 (Remastered)
03. All You Need (Remastered)
04. Ballad Of The Lower East Side (Remastered)
05. Eighteen Angels (Remastered)
06. Stained Glass Heart (Remastered)
07. Old King’s Road (Remastered)
08. Goin’ Down With The Ship (Remastered)
09. Keep Your Eye On You (Remastered)
10. One Foot Outta The Grave
11. Fist Fulla Dynamite
12. Simpletown
13. Get On (Remastered)
14. Magic Carpet Ride [feat. Slash]



[embedyt] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=23KAL0fft7w[/embedyt]

Check Out Our Latest .

kiss concert memories decibel geek podcast

Koncert Memories – Ep451

We’re back this week to talk about memories of KISS live with Koncert Memories! We know many of you have seen KISS

New Noize July 2021, rock, metal, news

New Noize July 2021 – Ep450

We’re back this week to discuss all the latest happenings in the rock and metal worlds with New Noize July 2021! It’s